Acknowledgments

The 10-year Investigation Commission on the Fukushima Nuclear Accident met a total of 20 times from August 2019 to March 2020, holdings interviews with the following parties and experts in addition to committee member study groups. (Some people wish to remain anonymous. Some are noted only by their institution.)

Charles A. Casto (President, The Casto Group Consulting LLC, former Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Regional Administrator), August 26, 2019

Yotaro Hatamura (CEO, Hatamura Institute of Creative Technology, former chairman of the Government Accident Committee), September 18, 2019

Tsuyoshi Shiina (former TEPCO Fukushima Nuclear Power Station Accident Investigation Committee Secretariat), October 9, 2019

Nuclear Regulation Authority Executives, October 10, 2019

Shunichi Tanaka (currently litate Village Reconstruction Advisor, Futabacho Chairman of Dose Verification Committee, inaugural chairman of the Nuclear Regulation Authority), November 20, 2019

TEPCO Executive, November 27, 2019

Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Support Organization Executives, December 11, 2019

Goshi Hosono (Member of the House of Representatives, former Special Advisor to the Prime Minister, former Minister of the Environment), December 19, 2019

Former Executive Officer of the Reconstruction Agency, January 17, 2020

George Apostolakis (Head of Nuclear Risk Research Center, former commissioner of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission), January 29, 2020

Shuya Nomura (Professor, Graduate School of Law, Chuo University, former member of the Parliamentary Accident Investigation), February 4, 2020

Takashi Shimada (Special Advisor to the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Special Advisor to the Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation), February 27, 2020

Shunsuke Kondo (President of Nuclear Waste Management Organization of Japan, former chairman, Japan Atomic Energy Commission), March 10, 2020

Yasuhisa Shiozaki (current Chairperson of Headquarters for Promoting Administrative Reform, Liberal Democratic Party of Japan), March 17, 2020

Kazuhiko Toyama (Managing Partner of Industrial Growth Platform, Inc., member of TEPCO Reform/1F Problem Committee), March 18, 2020

In addition, the following people were asked to participate in individual interviews with the committee members. (Titles are as of the time of the interview).

Kota Juraku (Associate Professor, Tokyo Denki University), September 24, 2019

Former Diet Investigation Secretariat Researcher, October 1, 2019

Yasuo Sato (participant, Fire and Disaster Prevention Science Center), October 8, 2019

Kiyotaka Takahashi (former Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary for Crisis Management), November 13, 2019

Eiji Hiraoka (former Vice Director-General, Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency, former Deputy Director-General, Minister's Secretariat for the Ministry of the Environment), November 19, 2019 Ken Yamada (former Fukushima Prefectural Security Officer), November 22, 2019

10-year Investigation Commission on the Fukushima Nuclear Accident: Final Report by Investigation Commission on the Fukushima Nuclear Accident

Tetsuya Yamamoto (former Nuclear Emergency Preparedness Officer, Cabinet Office), November 22, 2019

Mihama Nuclear Emergency Situation Center Representative, November 26, 2019

Experienced officer, Cabinet Office, Nuclear Disaster Prevention, November 29, 2019

Hiroshi Miura (Director, Special Disaster Countermeasures Office, Fire Department, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications), December 3, 2019

Nobuyasu Kubo (former Commissioner of the Fire and Disaster Management Agency), December 3, 2019

Mid-career staff, National Police Agency, December 6, 2019

Hisayasu Suzuki (Former Commandant of the Japan Coast Guard), January 30, 2020

Nobushige Takamizawa (former Assistant Chief Cabinet Secretary), February 4, 2020

Decontamination Policy Officer, Ministry of the Environment, February 26, 2020

Ryoji Oi (Disaster Prevention Policy Officer, Ministry of the Environment, Japan Coast Guard), March 5, 2020

Former Self-Defense Force official, March 19, 2020

Masato Taura (Former Deputy Commander, Central Response Group), March 27, 2020

National Institute of Health Sciences, March 30, 2020

Tomoyuki Takahashi (Associate Professor, Kyoto University), March 30, 2020

Takami Morita (National Fisheries Research and Education Organization Group Leader), March 31, 2020

Ohtsura Niwa (Chairman of Radiation Effects Research Foundation), April 1, 2020

We would like to express our deep gratitude to all.

Once again our publication was kindly approved by Yumiko Hoshiba of Discover Twenty-One (then CEO). Thank you. I would also like to thank Masayuki Sato, executive officer at Discover Twenty-One, and editorial staff member Motoshi Watanabe.

Yoichi Funabashi